About Me

I live in a suburb outside of Denver, Colorado with my husband and our three boys…two of them are twins! We have a crazy little jack russell terrier /dachshund who is notorious for getting into EVERYTHING!  Right now I’m working part-time but I still consider my Mom duties to be my main form of employment (where I’m paid in hugs, kisses and dirty laundry).

Previous to now, I worked in a Hotel doing Event Coordinating and office administration for a number of years.   For school, I earned my Bachelors in Art at a private college in northern Louisiana.

Creatively my main love is Photography but I still love to sew and knit when I can find the time.  When I’m not doing my hair, I’m outside in the garden.  My husband is an extremely talented gardener so now I’ve got the bug to grow things too.  We mostly grow edible herbs and vegetables which I love to add to our home cooked meals.  I’m hoping to become a better gardener so my outdoor project list is growing.

Living in Colorado has it’s challenges as far as gardening goes but the same can be said for haircare.  The dry climate here can do a number on our hair and skin thus, “Curly in Colorado” was born.  In 2009, back when there were fewer resources for natural hair online, I started out sharing my hair journey with other naturals on Youtube.   I hope to continue to share my findings using the trial and error I go through with my own hair.  I personally invite you to stick around and read a bit.  Thanks for stopping by!